If you have been accused of methamphetamine (or crystal meth) possession or sale in Colorado, you’re likely scared and unsure of what happens next–especially if you’ve never been charged with a crime before.
Methamphetamine charges are very serious, and law enforcement and prosecutors can treat alleged offenders very harshly. You may be facing a felony, which can come with significant amount of time behind bars. If you have been charged with possession of a large amount of crystal meth, the penalties can be steep, and if you have been charged with selling it, you can expect even more serious penalties.
If you or a loved one is facing criminal charges for this drug, you should contact an attorney as soon as possible. You don’t have to go through this process alone.
At the Law Office of Andres R. Guevara, we’re committed to defending people that have been accused of possessing or selling crystal meth. We have extensive experience handling these cases on both sides: Andres R. Guevara is a former drug prosecutor who understands how law enforcement and prosecutors build a case against someone. Call our office at (720) 408-2877 to schedule a free consultation.
Colorado Methamphetamine Possession and Sale Charges
Methamphetamine is one of the most dangerous street drugs because of its highly addictive; therefore, Colorado has severe penalties for convictions on charges of methamphetamine possession and sale. Studies have shown that methamphetamine causes severe physical and psychological dependency. Furthermore, the person builds up a tolerance to the drug requiring higher doses to produce the desired effect.
Law enforcement officers and prosecutors aggressively pursue convictions on charges of methamphetamine possession and sale. Judges routinely sentence defendants to the statutory limits for the possession and distribution of methamphetamine. Some possible penalties that you may be facing, if convicted, include:
- Jail and/or prison time
- Loss of the ability to own and possess a firearm
- Mandatory drug monitoring and/or treatment
- Loss of potential employment opportunities
- Professional and personal damages
Because your future is in jeopardy, you need competent legal representation to protect your legal rights and balance the field between you and the state.
Minimum Prison Time for Possession of Methamphetamine
Possession of any amount of methamphetamine is a felony in Colorado. Meth is a Schedule II controlled substance because it is a highly addictive substance carefully regulated by the federal government. If you are found guilty of possessing any amount of methamphetamine, you face the following prison sentences:
- Possession of less than 2 grams of methamphetamine – Colorado Class 6 Felony punishable by 6 months to 3 years in prison
- Possession of more than 2 grams of methamphetamine – Colorado Class 4 Felony punishable by 1 year to 12 years in prison
Minimum Prison Time for the Sale, Distribution, and Manufacture of Methamphetamine
According to Colorado Revised Statutes 18-18-405 “It is unlawful for any person knowingly to manufacture, dispense, sell, or distribute, or to possess with intent to manufacture, dispense, sell, or distribute, a controlled substance.” The punishment for a conviction under this statute is severe.
- Colorado Class 3 Felony – Intent to distribute methamphetamine or the sale of methamphetamine with no prior conviction is punishable by 4 to 16 years in prison.
- Colorado Class 2 Felony – If you have a prior conviction of the same charge, a second conviction on the charge of intent to distribute methamphetamine or the sale of methamphetamine is punishable by 8 to 24 years in prison.
What should I do if I am arrested for Methamphetamine Possession or Intent to Distribute or Sell Methamphetamine?
Several factors including the amount of methamphetamine in your possession, your prior criminal record, having possession of the elements to manufacture meth (isomers and salt), and having any substances containing meth are considered by the court, when imposing a sentence. A skilled methamphetamine defense attorney may be able to mitigate the severity of your sentence by performing a thorough investigation into the fact surrounding your arrest and presenting a strong defense to the judge.
If you are arrested for methamphetamine possession or intent to sell methamphetamine, you should invoke your right to remain silent and ask for your attorney. Anything you say may be used against you — even if you are just trying to “tell your side of the story.” Contact our office before answering any questions or providing a statement to the police.
Free Attorney Consultation with an Experienced Colorado Drug Defense Attorney
Talk to one of our firm’s experienced Denver, CO criminal defense lawyers during your free consultation. Contact our office today.