Rape & Statutory Rape Charges

Experienced sex crime defense lawyers will fight your charges of rape & statutory rape

A conviction of rape or statutory rape can haunt you throughout your lifetime. And Colorado law prosecutes those who have committed rape or statutory rape very severely.

Our committed sexual assault defense lawyers are devoted to defending the innocence and protecting the futures of those accused of rape or statutory rape here in Colorado. We understand the legal, life, and social consequences of a rape conviction. A sex crime is something that will follow you around for the rest of your life.

In Colorado, a statutory rape charge comes with severe consequences. In addition to the pertinent fines and prison time, state law requires you to register as a sex offender in Colorado, meaning your crime is public knowledge.

?
Rape

Rape is defined as sexual intercourse that is forced on an individual without this person’s consent or against this person’s will.

?
Statutory Rape

Statutory rape is the unlawful act of engaging in sexual activity with an individual under the legal age of consent.

Statutory Rape Charges in Colorado

Statutory rape is prosecuted under Colorado’s sexual assault laws, and penalties depend on the ages of the defendant and victim.

Though statutory rape does not require that the prosecutor proves an assault, it is still considered rape.

The following situations are considered statutory rape in Colorado:

  • When there is penetration with an object or body part between a minor who is 14 or younger and a defendant who is at least four years older than the minor
  • When there is penetration between a 15 or 16 year old minor and a defendant who is at least ten years older than the minor. If convicted of this offense, you can be charged with a class one misdemeanor, meaning you’re subject to paying a fine of $500 to $5,000, and may face jail time ranging from six months to two years in prison
  • Sexual assault on a child occurs when there is sexual touching (not including penetration), even if the touching is over clothing, when the minor is 14 or younger, and the defendant is at least four years older than the minor. If convicted of this offense, you can be charged with a class four felony, meaning you’re subject to paying a fine of $2,000 to $500,000 and may face anywhere from one to twelve years in prison.

Sex Crimes FAQ

Take a look at our sex crimes FAQ to learn more about sex crimes in Colorado, the consequences of a statutory rape charge, and what to do if you’ve been accused of committing rape or statutory rape.

A CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER WILL HELP YOU FIGHT RAPE CHARGES.

If you’ve been accused of committing rape or statutory rape, it’s vital you get a lawyer immediately. A lawyer can evaluate the strength of the prosecution’s case against you, develop defenses that can help your case, and negotiate with the prosecutor for a lesser charge or a reduction in penalties.

Develop a strong defense

If you’ve been accused of committing rape or statutory rape, contact the experienced sex crime defense attorneys here at the Law Office of Andres R. Guevara right away to schedule a free initial consultation. We’ll work to develop an impenetrable defense that will protect your freedom, future, and reputation.

*Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.